Lalita Sahastra Naamam

By Mitul Trivedi | Jan 09, 2019 | in Blogs | Share

1000 names of Hindu Goddess.

Lalitha Sahasra Naamam is one of the principal texts of Sakta Cult the other two being are Durga Sapta Sati and Soundarya Lahari. Generally, only two Sahasranaamams (thousand Divine names), i.e., Lalitha Sahasra Naamam and Vishnu Sahasra Naamam are popular in India though all deities like Siva, Laksmi, Parvathi, etc are having their own Sahasranaamams and corresponding rituals. When Vishnu Sahasra Naamam helps the devotee to attain spiritual well being and subsequent Moksha(salvation) the Lalitha Sahasra Naamam imparts saadhaka (devotees) both spiritual and material upliftment.


Lalita Sahastra Naamam contains 320 slokas in three chapters and it occurs in second part of the Brahmanda Purana, which is the last of S'ri Veda-Vyasa's 18 Puranas. 
The introductory part of Sahastra Naamam contains 51 verses. Sahastra (thousand) names are contained in 182 1/2 (182 and half) verses. The concluding part is in 86 and 1/2 verses thus totaling 320 verses. First 51 are divided as - 


  • 10 are of Agastya
  • 1 of Suta
  • 16 1/2 of Hayagriva
  • 3 1/2 of Devi
  • 9 1/2 of Hayagriva
  • 9 1/2 of Devi
  • 1 of Dhyana Slokas


We will not discuss aforementioned 51 verses. 


Instead, we will discuss one thousand names of Lalitha (Paramba) Devi. The thousand names are classified into 10 groups. Following are the beginning of each of ten centum:


  1. Sri Maata
  2. Mani pooraantharuditha
  3. Sadgathi prada
  4. Hrimkaari
  5. Vividhaakaara
  6. Gudanna preetha maanasa
  7. Daraondolitha deerkhaakshi
  8. Desa kaala paricchinna
  9. Pushta
  10. Naadaroopini


It is also to be noted that no name is used for a second time with the same meaning.


Sree-mata shree maha-ragyni shreematsinha-saneshvaree


Chidagni kunda-sanbhuta deva-karya samudyata – 1


The first name is Sree-mata.